TRAINING REQUIRED: Updated: 10/17/19

CALIFORNIA

Who needs to be trained? Supervisory employees and employees, if you have 5+ employees.

Training Hours: 2 hours for supervisory employees, 1 hour for non-supervisory employees.

Training Deadline(s): Employees must be trained within 6 months of hire. Currently effective for supervisory employees. Effective for non-supervisory employees by January 1, 2021.

Retraining Requirements: Bi-annually

ServSafe Acceptance: Available now.

CONNECTICUT

Who needs to be trained?  All supervisory employees for any size employer. Employees, if you employ 3+ employees. There is no difference in the state’s training content requirements for employees and supervisory employees. That is why we are offering one course for both supervisory employees and employees in Connecticut.

Training Hours: 2 hours

Training Deadline(s): Supervisory employees and Employees must be trained within 6 months of employment.  Effective October 1, 2020.

Retraining Requirements: Every 10 years. Any employee (including supervisor) trained since October 1, 2018 is exempt from being “retrained” a second time under the new laws.

Training Fines: $750 if you fail to train supervisory employees or employees.

ServSafe Acceptance: Available now.

DELAWARE

Who needs to be trained? All employees, if you have 50+ employees.

Training Hours: None

Training Deadline(s): Within 1 year of employment. Effective January 1, 2020.

Retraining Requirements: Every 2 years.

ServSafe Acceptance: Available now.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA (law will not be enforced until budget is provided)

Who needs to be trained? For anyone that employs tipped workers: employees, owners/operators, and supervisory employees.

Training Hours: None. Training for employees, owners/operators can be online or in person. Manager training only in person training is accepted.

Training Deadline(s): Within 90 days of hire. Effective July 1, 2019 per legislation. This date will change as this law has not gone into effect until budget is allocated.

Retraining Requirements: Every 2 years.

ServSafe Acceptance: No training programs are accepted yet.

ILLINOIS

Who needs to be trained? All restaurant and bar employees.

Training Hours: None specified.

Training Deadline(s): Training must be completed once a year.

Retraining Requirements: Annually.

Legislation: http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/101/SB/10100SB0075enr.htm

Regulation: Not yet.  Became law: August 9, 2019.

ServSafe Acceptance: Available now.

MAINE

Who needs to be trained? Supervisory employees and employees, if you have 15+ employees.

Training Hours: None

Training Deadline(s): Within 1 year of hire and within 1 year of assumption of supervisory position.

Retraining Requirements: None

ServSafe Acceptance: Available now.

NEW YORK (State & City)

Who needs to be trained?

State:  All employees, including supervisory employees, for any size employer. There is no difference in the state’s training content requirements for employees and supervisory employees. That is why we are offering one course for both supervisory employees and employees in New York.

City: Supervisory employees and employees, if you have 15+ employees. Also, any employees, supervisory employees and independent contractors in other states that regularly visit or interact with NYC employees.

Training Hours: None

Training Deadline(s):  State: As soon as possible, with all current employees trained by October 9, 2019. City: As soon as possible, with all employees trained by April 1, 2019.

Note: State deadline requirements overrule city requirements.

Retraining Requirements: Annually

ServSafe Workplace Acceptance: State: Available now. City: Available now.

WASHINGTON

Who needs to be trained?  Every hotel, motel, retail, or security guard entity, or property services contractor, who employs an employee. Employee is defined as an individual who spends a majority of her or his working hours alone, or whose primary work responsibility involves working without another coworker present, and who is employed by an employer as a janitor, security guard, hotel or motel housekeeper, or room service attendant.

Training Hours: None specified in legislation.

Training Deadline(s): Hotels and motels with 60 or more rooms must comply by January 1, 2020 while all other identified employers must comply by January 1, 2021.

Retraining Requirements: None

ServSafe Acceptance: Available now.

TRAINING RECCOMENDED BY LEGISLATION:

COLORADO: Employers covered by the Colorado Fair Employment Practices Act are encouraged to conduct training.

MASSACHUSSETTS: All new employees and supervisors are encouraged to conduct training within first year of employment and within one year of assuming supervisory responsibilities.

RHODE ISLAND: Employers with 50 more employees are encouraged to conduct training within one year of employment for new employees and within one year of assuming supervisory responsibilities.

VERMONT: All employers are encouraged to conduct training within first year of employment and within one year of assuming supervisory responsibilities.

 Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 applies – for any employer with 15+ employees. The United States Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) recommends training:

Alabama   Michigan   Oregon 
Alaska    Minnesota   Pennsylvania
Arizona   Mississippi   South Carolina
Arkansas   Missouri   South Dakota
Florida   Montana   Tennessee
Georgia   Nebraska   Texas
Hawaii   Nevada    Utah
Idaho   New Hampshire   Virginia
Iowa   New Jersey    Washington
Indiana   New Mexico   West Virginia
Kansas   North Carolina   Wisconsin
Kentucky   North Dakota   Wyoming
Louisiana    Ohio    
Maryland   Oklahoma